Oops. Sorry.

So Shannon brought it to my attention and I realized that it has been a really long time since I have written anything. At first I thought oh no nothing has even happened to write about but then I realized that actually quite a few things have happened since I last wrote. (Although I dare not write it ALL down because I have to save some stuff for if I am ever in a real drought!) So now that you are at least a little curious…last weekend I learned Reiki with some of the CLC girls from one of our teachers.

So if you have never heard of Reiki let me just sum it up for you quickly. Reiki is energy healing, the person doing the Reiki (now me) is a conduit for the energy all around us and so when they place their hands on someone it is thouht that this energy is then brought to that person. The energy would then go to wherever the person might need it physically, emotionally, or otherwise.

So we go and learn the history and definition of Reiki and the hand placements that you can use for Reiki and how to perform Reiki on yourself. Our teacher attunes us. Which means….that we sit quietly while she goes around the room and does some things to make it so that we are able to be conduits for the energy. So of course before we leave we practice….

We have heard all of these sensory feelings that people sometimes have and so as we are practicing I am trying to figure out if I felt any of them….well maybe my hands were a little warm or oh was that a pulling feeling??? Yeah…I am really not sure if it was “working” or if my hands had simply been sitting for so long that indeed they did get a bit warm. Who knows. So we are given an assignment to Reiki ourselves every day for 21 days. I have tried this every night and I am pretty sure it is definite that I am way too inpatient and fidgety for this to even try to work properly. I can’t keep my hands still for even 30 seconds. Oops…not quite 2 or 3 minutes.

I have tried it on little L and A because our teacher uses it on her kids to help them sleep. So there I am with my “magic hands” on the kids’ backs trying to send them sleep energy. Hmmm…. they are also a little fidgety and so my hands keep moving and eh well I give up a bit and resort back to laying on the middle of their bedroom floor trying to Reiki myself.

I don’t really know what I think about this whole business. I am trying but I am not altogether sure of exactly what I am supposed to feel or if I am doing anything close to right. Who knows. I will keep you posted if there are any dramatic results – like if I manage to keep still for an entire 3 minutes with my hands covering my face.

The girls and I are starting a mini operation leave our apartment today and meeting up for drinks and then (YAY!) going on a Sex and the City bus tour on Sunday so hopefully a really good story will come of it because I highly doubt that exactly how long I can hold still is the riveting life information you are interested in reading….

Leave a Reply

