October Reading

October has been a slow reading month, but I have a few to share!

Why Not Me? by Mindy Kaling

This was a really easy read.  I’ve read a lot of reviews where people LOVED this book, but I can’t say I feel the same.  I’m feeling neutral about it – it definitely wouldn’t hit my list of recommended books, but I wouldn’t tell you not to read it.

Blueprints by Barbara Delinsky

I originally started listening to this one through my library’s audiobook rental program and had a really tough time listening.  I thought that maybe the reader just was not my style, so I picked up the actual book.  I’m still not sure why I read the whole thing!  There were a lot of twists and turns, but things were still predictable (although unrealistic).   In the book (I don’t think this is a spoiler, as it is the base of the book), the main character unexpectedly becomes the caregiver for her younger brother after her Dad and his new wife die.  As someone who works with children who are grieving on a regular basis, I get frustrated when characters in books do things that are so far from what would be best (and there isn’t any part of the storyline that needs that).  In fact, this character even goes to a pediatrician for advice and that isn’t great either.  I just wish authors would do a little bit more research in this area and help any readers find ways to support kids who might be grieving!   (I’ll step off my soapbox now…)  Besides that, I just didn’t love this one.

Beach Town by Mary Kay Andrews

I love books by Mary Kay Andrews and this one did not disappoint.  It was a fun book that I would recommend!  (I actually listened to this one on audible and enjoyed the narration.  If you are looking for a fun read this month, don’t miss this book!

Leave a Reply

