A Dinner Menu

Recently, we invited friends over for dinner.  We have been to their house several times, so I was excited that we were (finally!) able to host them here.  Whenever we have people over, I usually end up making something that I have made before or made recently and this time was no exception, but I am always looking for new additions and creating an actual “menu”.  After some pinterest searching and my own brain power, here is the menu.  I thought it would be fun to share as the holiday season is approaching!

Appetizers:

Cheese board and Fixings

Dinner party

We had bleu cheese, cheddar, brie, salami, olives, honey, jam and crostini. Honestly, if this could just be dinner all the time and skip the next pieces I would be pretty happy.

Dinner:

Arugula Salad with Butternut Squash,Cranberries and Candied Pecans

I used this recipe for the salad.

Roasted Vegetables

I did not use a recipe for this one (because it is super easy to make!).  If you aren’t a vegetable roaster already, drop everything and try it.  I’m serious.  Tae keeps asking me to a HUGE portion of them on the weekends for us to eat all week.

You can use any vegetables that you like, but for this menu I did carrots, red onion, mushrooms, and fingerling potatoes. Make sure everything is chopped, cubed, etc and Toss them in a bit olive oil and add a little bit of salt.  Place them in the oven at 350 for about an hour or so, turning throughout the cooking.  You will know that they are done, whenever everything is soft.  (Depending on your vegetable combination and it could take much less time.)

Roasted Chicken

Dinner party

I used a combination of recipes to make the roasted chicken.  I wanted to use a combination of herbs, so I went to The Pioneer Woman and used part of this recipe.   I wanted to free up the oven, so I cooked it in the slow cooker on high for 4 hours.  The key to this is to put little balls of foil on the bottom of your slow cooker to keep the chicken out of the juices.    I did check it to make sure that it was cooked enough (above 165 degrees) and it was definitely finished.  Because I wanted to get the outside crispy, I put it in a baking dish and then into the oven for 15 minutes at 500 degrees.  Super easy!

Rosemary Bread

Dinner party

In college, my friend Lindsey convinced me to go on this crazy mission trip.  I’m not sure if I talked about it before, but it was more than a little crazy (we couldn’t shower the WHOLE week!).  The best thing that came out of it was some of my favorite college friends and a recipe for this Rosemary bread.  Somehow, despite many moves, I still manage to have the teensy tiny piece of paper with the recipe.  I’ll share it here in case anyone is interested!

Ingredients:

2 cups of warm water

2 packs dry yeast (or 4 1/2 teaspoons)

2 tablespoons sugar

2 teaspoons salt

2 tablespoons butter

41/2 cups flour

1 tablespoon rosemary

Recipe:

Mix yeast, sugar, and salt together.  Pour into water.

Mix in butter.

Roll flour in gradually and then add rosemary.

Let rise (45 minutes or until doubled in size).

Pat it down and set it in a greased pan.

Bake at 375 degrees for 35-40 minutes.

SO EASY!

Dessert:

Pumpkin Spice Cheesecake with a Gingersnap Crust

I used this recipe from Mix and Match Mama.  It was my first attempt at a cheesecake and super easy.  I think that I could have cooked it for longer, so be sure to check that the middle of your is really done (mine was just a bit gooey still).    Either way it was delicious!

And there you go, our Saturday night dinner menu.

One thought on “A Dinner Menu

  1. Sounds delicious! I am going to try the bread. For the cheesecake I have made them quite often -people always are impressed because they don’t realize they are not all that hard. Put a knife in the cheesecake about an inch away from the center of the cake and if it comes out clean it is done- the very center should still be a little gooey.
    Aunt Lissa

Leave a Reply

