January Reading

January has been an excellent month of reading.  Knowing that we were going on our honeymoon and would have (many) hours of travel, I saved new books by some of my favorite authors.  It was the best decision.  This might be my favorite month of reading so far.  I’m also going to throw in my favorite December reads towards the bottom, just in case you need more ideas!

After You by Jojo Moyes

25041504

After You is the sequel to Me Before You, which I loved.   I was so excited to read it and it really did not disappoint.  This was on of my favorite pool reads of vacation.  I cannot recommend Jojo Moyes enough!

Rogue Lawyer by John Grisham

25387351

John Grisham always tops my list of favorite authors.  Every once in awhile, a new book might come out that misses the mark, but this one was reminiscent of some of his older books.  It was great and I only wish it was longer!  In fact, I won’t be surprised if this character is back in another book!

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

16068905

Rainbow Rowell is a new author to me, but I had heard her name a few times and then was listening to a podcast where they went more in depth and I couldn’t wait to try it.  It was a fun read, although I am not totally sure it would go on my list to recommend.  It was closer to YA fiction and lost me a few times, but still fun.

Shopaholic to the Rescue by Sophie Kinsella

25809756

I’ve read all of the Shopaholic books at this point, so I feel sort of invested when a new one comes out.  I just have to see what happens, even if they no longer fall into my favorites.  Still, if you have read the others, go ahead and pick this one up.

Pretty Baby by Mary Kubica

23638955

This book made me all kinds of uncomfortable!  It falls into the thriller category and I couldn’t put it down (which was mostly due to the fact that I was a nervous wreck reading the story!).

Before I Go To Sleep: A Novel by S.J. Watson

9736930

If I was going to use a emoji, it would be the one with really big eyes and a straight face, because.. WHOA.  I grabbed this one when I heard a librarian describe it and read it pretty quickly.  And then immediately after I read it, I discovered that it had been turned into a movie and we watched it on Netflix.  As usually happens, the book is so much better than the movie.  This one I would recommend only if you are ok with creepy and might-make-you-have-nightmares.

The Lake House by Kate Morton

21104828

This is my second Kate Morton book (the first was forever ago when I lived in Charleston) and I listened to this one on Audible in December.  It took a bit to get into (lots of characters, different time periods) but at some point, I was totally engaged.  The recording for this book is 21 hours, so it is a time investment – but well worth it!

Winter Stroll by Elin Hildebrand

24819476

This is the sequel to Winter Street (which I read in November). It was fun to be able to read them back to back. I can only hope that I will remember everything next year when the third comes out!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

